The Last Ten Pounds Book Blast

vbt_tourbannerthelasttenpounds

Remember to follow the other stops on the tour for a better chance at winning the Giveaway.

Find the schedule here.


AUTHOR INTERVIEW

What are you currently reading?
I am currently reading Osho’s book on Creativity. I would recommend this book to all writers, artist and creative people. It gives you deep insight on the creative mind.

Do you have a favorite author? Who is it?
It depends on what genre we’re talking about. For non-fiction, I would have to say, Krishnamurti. His teachings are very complex and at times hard to grasp. But he is the real deal when it comes to spiritual gurus. For fiction, I go through phases where I’ll read only one author and then when I’m finish reading their books I move onto another author. For example, I went through a Dan Brown phase where I couldn’t get enough of his books because I loved how every chapter he writes ends in a cliffhanger and keeps the reader so engaged. I also like the topic of his books based around secret societies and symbolism. Then I went through a Wally Lamb phase where I read all his books and fell in love with the way he developed his characters so vividly. There’s so many great authors out there that it’s hard to have one favorite.
When did you start writing?
I started writing a few years ago when I started journaling. Soon after that I turned the journaling into my memoir and now I continue to write on my spiritual blog called Chic Sage and I’m also in the process of writing my second book.

Why do you write?
I’ve always been a creative person and I guess writing is an outlet for me to express my creativity. To be honest, I never wanted to be a writer. My first childhood memory when asked what I wanted to be when I grew up was that I wanted to be an artist. Soon after that I wanted to be an actress. I held on to that dream for many years. In junior high and high school, I was involved in the drama club. I even spent one summer enrolled in acting classes. But life happened and I soon let go of that dream. I don’t believe in coincidences, so I can’t say I accidentally became a writer. I think it was in me all along to become a writer.

Who is your intended audience and why should they read your book?
When I wrote this book I always imagined that women would gravitate more towards it because of the content involved. However, that’s not to say that men would not relate to it. I would say it is for anybody who is at a standstill and feeling lost with their life. They know they have a lot of issues they’ve been suppressing but just don’t know how to begin to deal with them. I would say they can begin by reading, The Last Ten Pounds.

If you could go back in time and meet one famous person or legend in history, who would it be? Why? What would you say to them?
I would love to meet Krishnamurti who was an Indian philosopher. His books covered anything from mediation to human relationships to nature of the mind. One of my all-time favorite books is his book called The Book of Life. I would love to meet him because I’m very much a spiritual person and I find him to be one of the best spiritual teachers to have lived. I wouldn’t say anything to him. I would sit and meditate with him. To feel his energy is better than any words.

How did you come up with the idea for your book? Why did you want to write it?
My memoir, The Last Ten Pounds, started off as a personal project to help me process, deal with and heal from the emotional traumas from my past. It originally started off as nothing more than scribbled notes in my journal. Before long, it had filled an entire book. That’s when I realized that my personal project was so much more than journal entries. It was meant to be shared with the world and maybe along the way help to inspire people in their own personal struggles.

Tell us about your cover art. Who designed it? Why did you go with that particular image/artwork?
The cover of my book was designed by my good friend Ade, who is also one of the people I write about in my book. The idea for the cover was a collaborative effort between the two of us. The cover of my book is one of symbolism. The dark clouds in the background represents a stormy past. There is an image of me holding the moon and rising up from the mountains. This symbolizes me climbing and fighting my way out of all past traumas to rise above. The moon represents feminine energy and because I’m holding the moon, it symbolizes me embracing my feminine energy. To sum it up, I started off amidst a storm, rose above and came full circle with the restoration of my femininity.

Who would you cast for the main characters if your book became a movie?

What a great question! I I’d cast Jake Gyllenhaal to play Coin Boy, Bryan Cranston or Richard Jenkins to play Rock Boy, Mark Ruffalo to play Lover Boy, Daniel Craig to play GQ Boy, and Idris Elba to play Ade. For myself, I don’t know. I guess it’s always the hardest to cast yourself.
How about an excerpt from your book meant to capture our imagination and make us want to read more?
Flashing red lights and turbulent commotion outside made me abruptly wake up to a scene of a dozen men who were heavily armed, dressed in full on black armor and gas masks, jumping out of what looked like black SWAT vans. I was anesthetized in my own trepidation; unable to run or hide. All I could do was stand by my window. As if in slow motion—taken straight from the movies—I watched these men approach my house. You couldn’t engage in an illegal grow op for long without getting busted and I had enough marijuana plants in my house to face a strong conviction. In that moment, my usually rapidly thinking brain, experienced the unusual phenomena of an outer body experience where time stood completely still and I felt like I was listlessly floating amongst the clouds. Harps played in the background replacing the loud bangs of the SWAT team trying to break down the door. And just as if I was protected by a sea of angels, I slowly came back to my body and realized that the loud bangs were that of my neighbor’s door and not mine. The SWAT team had veered off to my neighbor’s house without me even realizing.


mediakit_bookcover_thelast10pounds

The Last Ten Pounds: One Woman’s Journey to Love (by shedding Fear, Anger, Hatred…and Everything In-Between)
by Lina Sage

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE: Memoir

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Shortly after I was born, my family left Vietnam’s strict Communist regime by escaping on a tiny fishing boat in the middle of the night.

Luckily, Canada accepted us as refugees and we were excited for a new beginning. However, any hopes of a brighter future vanished before an abusive alcoholic father who’s repeated physical violence against my mom left me screaming for any stability. Sexual, physical and emotional abuse clouded my childhood years leaving me so damaged that it changed who I was meant to grow up to be.

In my early twenties, I bought a house and converted it into a full blown marijuana grow op.

Soon after, I entered into the world of elite call girls and became one of the most sought after girls in my agency. By my late twenties, I was on top of the world and the proud owner of a multi-million-dollar luxury day spa.

Just when I thought I had it all, I made the ultimate mistake that ended in me losing everything and hitting rock bottom.

I was spiritually broken and in desperate need of healing. I had no choice but to reconcile with my past. This decision brought me down a miraculous journey that opened me up to consciousness and enabled me to exist in the space I do today; that of uninhibited peace.

The Last 10 Pounds: One Woman’s Journey to Love (by shedding Fear, Anger, Hatred…and Everything In-Between) is my personal journey and a testament that it is possible to heal and transform. To be the person you were born to be.

AMAZON


GIVEAWAY

FOLLOW the tour and comment for a better chance of winning the GIVEAWAY.

Find the tour STOPS here.

bigstock-Man-with-tattooed-muscular-tor-53316946

ENTER HERE FOR A CHANCE TO WIN

$20 Amazon/BN GC


AUTHOR Bio

Lina Sage is a writer, speaker, producer and entrepreneur. She is the creator and founder of Chic Spirituality; a movement whose philosophy is to live your life with heightened awareness by surrounding yourself with things you deem beautiful. Lina believes balance of mind, body and soul, is the key to unlocking all things beautiful. Therefore, she enjoys physical activity to maintain a strong body and meditation to calm the mind. But she especially cherishes time spent with her beloved husband and dog because they are what brings her soul the greatest joy. Lina also likes to surround herself with great food and exotic travels around the world.

Social Media Links:

website: http://www.linasage.com
facebook: http://www.facebook.com/chicsage
instagram: http://www.instagram.com/chicsage/?hl=en


HOSTED BY

Tour Host Button 2014 beveled copy

19 comments on “The Last Ten Pounds Book Blast

Please Leave a Reply

