Not the Hot Chick Blog Tour + Review

Not the Hot Chick
N. Raines
Publication date: April 26th 2016
Genres: New Adult, Romance

Not the Hot Chick Boxed Set: Books 1 – 4

This complete set contains Not the Hot Chick, Not the Stand In, Not the Friend with Benefits and Not the Placeholder

No one would call curvy Layla Messner hot. Sweet and smart, yes, but not hot. All that changes when she meets sexy bartender Cam. This bundle contains all four of parts of the Not the Hot Chick serial featuring a BBW heroine with heart and a hero with plenty of substance beneath his seductive style. Contains hot hook-ups, bitchy neighbors, ice skating blunders and—just possibly—love to last a lifetime.

Goodreads / Amazon / Kobo / iBooks / AllRomance

Sign up for Nona Raines’s newsletter and get Not the Hot Chick Book 1 for free!

Please sign up here!

 

Author Bio:

N. Raines (who also writes as Nona Raines) is a former librarian who lives in upstate New York with her many pets. She’s currently working on her next novel between walking the dog and shooing the cats off the laptop. Her erotic romances are published with The Wild Rose Press and Loose Id. Her transgender romance His Kind of Woman was nominated for the 2014 DABWAHA sponsored by the Dear Author and Smart Bitches, Trashy Books review blogs. Her most recent work is the romance novella Write to Me and the transgender romance Her Kind of Man.

Website / Facebook / Twitter


MY REVIEW

Coffee Cup On Wood Table At Sunset Or Sunrise Beach

4**** – A very good boxset that reads as a whole novella.

**I received a copy of this box set in exchange for an honest review**

I had mixed feelings about this collection of short-stories as I read them and even after I finished them. I liked them, that’s why I rated it a four-star read; however, there were a few things that bothered me.

As a writer of erotic short-stories and novels, I’m all too familiar with the importance of timing for sex scenes to work well for the audience. Don’t get me wrong. There’s plenty of steamy action between the sheets – and a few times with no sheets involved whatsoever. However, in some of them, the attempt at humor killed the mood for me. I love a good laugh and think it helps keep a story realistic and interesting. But, when you’re reading a good a sex scene and tension is building up, a chuckle or laughter seems like the wrong kind of relief; if you get my meaning.

Likewise, some of Cam’s and Layla’s attitudes were hard to understand. I don’t write spoilers so I’ll be intentionally vague in my example. I’ll only say that if one has been utterly and vilely betrayed by a significant other in their own bed, it’s hard to believe they’d sit down and casually chat about it with the offending party. No matter how nice one is, that’s just not right. There were other little things here and there; but I can’t mention them without spoiling the stories.

However, there are many more positives than negatives; otherwise, I wouldn’t have rated it four stars. I’m glad I was provided the complete set for reviewing because the short-stories aren’t standalones. Although the author does a good job of recapping past events, it’s understandably done as broad strokes or quick glances, which wouldn’t have been enough had I read only one or two of the stories separately. Together, they form a cohesive, engaging collection.

I also enjoyed watching Layla’s growth from shy mouse to roaring lioness. You go girl! Characters’ evolution is always a sign of good writing skills. On a personal note, I particularly enjoyed the fact that, although Cam plays an important role in Layla’s journey of self-discovery, she does it on her own terms and time. She’s in control of the process while he serves more as a mirror where she can see her own reflection from a different perspective rather than the reason for her transformation.

Also, there were a few instances where N. Raines switched POVs to include Cam’s. I always like that in a story and it was very well executed. If anything, I’d have liked to read more from his point of view. After all, he’s such an interesting, multi-faceted character. Not your typical heart-throb, sexy book boyfriend. He’s got an enticing mix of depth, tenderness, and ‘hunkiness’ going for him. In other words, drool-worthy.

Plot development and background stories were also skillfully written; while supporting characters were way more than placeholders – pun intended. They significantly contributed to the stories and helped them move forward. And did I mention the love scenes were steamy hot? Yes, I did. They’re quite well-written and will take your breath way.

Finally, as a movie buff myself, I was delighted by the references to and direct quotes from the movie Casablanca, which is one of my all-time favorites. Plus, I agree with Layla it’s outrageous to think people might not have heard of it. LOL

Goodreads

Amazon

 


GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

2 comments on “Not the Hot Chick Blog Tour + Review

Please Leave a Reply

