Renegade Release Day Blitz

 

~~Release Blitz~~
August 23, 2016

 

Renegade



Heather Dahlgren

 



Synopsis:

Brooklyn Adler has the life she’s planned for. Job, house, boyfriend – in that order. It’s a boring, routine life were there are no surprises and nothing is spontaneous. It’s safe, it’s mundane and she’s fine with that.

Crosby Fitzgerald, better known as Fitz from the band Renegade, has a life he never planned for. Popularity, women and success – not always in that order. Everything he does is spontaneous and exciting, because life is worth living to the fullest.

A chance meeting with Brooklyn and Fitz begins to alter both of their worlds – ensuring neither will ever be the same.

BUY ON AMAZON


Exclusive Excerpt:
I turn to walk to the gate and I hear, “Wait. Brooklyn, wait.” I turn around and see Fitz, running full speed toward me and I cover my mouth with my hand.
I look at Poopy and she shrugs her shoulders. “I swear I had no idea.”
Fitz reaches me and holds onto the top of my arms, breathing heavily. “Brooklyn, stay. The thought of you leaving is killing me, I can’t bare it. I want you here, with me.”
Tears running down my cheeks, I look into his blue eyes and my heart shatters in my chest. The hope I see in them makes this the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do. “I can’t Fitz. I have to go.”
“You don’t get it do you? We may not have crossed any lines physically, but my heart did. I fell for you Brooklyn,” he says and starts to move in for a kiss.
I step back and shake my head as I try to contain a sob. “I can’t. I’m so sorry Fitz.” I can’t wait for him to reply because I am so close to letting him convince me that this is where I belong.
So with my heart broken, my stomach in my throat and the best parts of me left behind with Fitz, I walk through the gate that will take me back to where I came from
.

Bio:

Heather Dahlgren writes Contemporary Romance, sprinkling each book with a bit of humor, a lot of naughty and true love. She self-published her first book in 2014 and continues to do so today. Her over active mind promises the stories are in no short supply. Heather grew up and still resides at the Jersey shore. She loves being so close to the Atlantic Ocean and the Pine Barrens. She is surrounded by the best of both worlds.She is married to her high school sweetheart and has three kids. There is nothing more important in the world to her then her family. When Heather isn’t writing you can find her getting lost in a great book, spending time with family and helping her fellow authors.


Click here to add Renegade to your Goodreads tbr!


MY REVIEW

Coffee Cup On Wood Table At Sunset Or Sunrise Beach

5 ***** Change is good!

Hell, change is AWESOME! I’m sure Fitz would agree with me. Oh my! I think I’ve just found a new book boyfriend and he’s a damn hot rock star!

Granted, I’m a huge rock fan and I’d die if anything close to this storyline happened to me in real life so I might be a bit biased here; but I just couldn’t put this book down. I’m also a lot like Brooklyn. I share some of her low self-esteem issues – although not for the same reasons as her – and I often get stuck in routine just because it feels safe. Well, safe is overrated often times. Taking a leap of faith can be terrifying though. Making up your mind about life-changing issues can be a long and painful process. I know because I did it. Renegade’s main storyline is about that: change. And it couldn’t me more realistic.

Also Heather brings up the characters’ background story through their interactions in a seamless way. She eases the reader up into their psyche and memories. One of the reasons you just want to keep on reading. Plus, alternating POVs between Fitz and Brooklyn and using present tense to narrate the story give the readers both a sense of immediacy and a chance to be inside the two main characters. That also makes for a thrilling reading experience when well executed, which is the case here.

Another characteristic of good writing skills in character development is the fact that characters do evolve through a story. If they’re flat, they’ll start and end a story unaltered. That is definitely NOT the case in Renegade. With two exceptions, which I won’t name here because I don’t do spoilers, all the other characters end up different from where they started. We see minor and major changes, but they change. Moreover, they do so in a realistic way.

For example, Brooklyn’s makeover has more to do with her insecurities and low self-esteem than anything else. She doesn’t completely morph into a new person out of the blue. Like Poppy relentless tells her, Brooklyn had always existed inside Brooke. She just decides to believe it with a little help from her friends; especially a certain drool-worthy, six-packed hot lead singer.

On the other hand, Fitz has always been a sweet guy who enjoyed the perks that come with rock and roll stardom. Don’t rush to judge him because he does come off as a bit shallow in the beginning. But that will last for like maybe the first five minutes into the book until you realize he’s actually just hiding behind a mask. It’s more about self-preservation than being a jerk. When one is that famous, it might get hard telling the real friends from the leeches so I could see why he kept things superficial to avoid getting hurt. However, in his interactions with the other band members and their manager, we get to see the real Crosby Fitzgerald and he’s swoon-worthy! One of my favorite quotes from Fitz, “it’s at times like this I want to go back in time and beat the shit out of everyone that’s made her doubt herself”. You can’t ask for much more than this. I mean if you’ve got a guy like that fighting on your corner, you’ve got it all, right?

I always leave my favorite part for last: Love scenes. Boy you’ll need some time-out except you won’t want to stop reading. The sex scenes are that engaging and that scorching hot. I’m talking about sighing-out-loud descriptions and squirming-on-your-seat sensations. Fitz took my breath away multiple times. *winks* Believe me! I know what I’m saying because I write erotic romances and Renegade’s one of the hottest, best written stories I’ve read recently. YAY, Heather! You rock! (Yeah pun intended)

Renegade’s got it all! I laughed out loud, I rooted for Brooklyn, Fitz, Poppy, and all the others, I got hot and bothered, my eyes even got misty a couple of times. Oh who am I kidding… a lot of times. Much like Brooklyn, I cry easily. LOL

I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well-written romantic story that can be sweet at times and downright naughty where it truly matters.

** I read this book with my Kindle Unlimited subscription**

GOODREADS

AMAZON


 

 

 

Please Leave a Reply

