Nate and the New Yorker Blog Tour

Reviews_NateAndTheNewYorker_Banner copy

Remember to follow the other stops on the tour for a better chance at winning the Giveaway.

Find the schedule here.


EXCERPT

“I think Prague is for lovers,” said Ben. He’d just complained about how milky the coffee was in the Czech Republic, and now this. “Yeah. Prague is the place you take your one true love.”

“Then what’s Paris?” I asked.

“That’s easy,” replied Lucy. “Paris is where you have a steamy affair.”

“Then I guess Amsterdam is for singles to get up to mischief,” I added.

My friends stared into space as if they were pondering the meaning of life, while their goulash was getting cold. I looked at my food. The enticing mix of hearty cuisine slopped on my plate had me slobbering like a mutt. My knife cracked the surface of my deep fried potato rosti, and as my fork made its way to my lips, it had to stop so I could take in the odor of this salty indulgence.

“Really, Nathan!” Lucy glared at me as if she was watching some kinky sex act even she’d disapprove of. “Just eat the bloody thing. I swear sex and food stimulate the same part of your brain.”

I crunched hard, making sure my grin reached both ears. She rolled her eyes and shoved a huge chunk of carrot and beef in her mouth before smirking. Strange violin music came from above. As I glanced up at the tinny speaker, the middle-aged waitress who looked as if she should cut down on sampling the food, sidled up to me.

“You like?”

She pointed to the speaker. I wanted to say it sounded like someone was murdering that musical instrument, but I decided to keep my mouth shut.

“My son. He practice music. Good, eh?” The three of us nodded. “I make louder.” She marched away proudly.

“Eat quickly,” said Ben. “That music sounds like someone is strangling a cat.”

“I never pictured a woman her age wearing lilac,” stated Lucy.

“Well, we are away from the tourist spots,” I said. “You have to expect local charm when we eat in this district.”

 


MediaKit_BookCover_NateAndTheNewYorker

 

GENRE: Gay Romance

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Cameron has it all. He’s rich, lives in Manhattan, and even has a cross-dressing butler. But then he meets Nate, an Australian who’s bitter about love. Cameron is determined to turn this realist into a dreamer by sharing his world of classy restaurants, Broadway shows and fabulous parties. And while Nate’s friends see the makings of a fantasy romance, it’s Nate who has to learn that in order to open his heart, he has to face a painful secret.

AMAZON

Wilde City


MY REVIEW

Coffee Cup On Wood Table At Sunset Or Sunrise Beach

4 **** – Quick, sweet romance

 

I enjoy stories that tap into different genres and mixed them up because they’ll surprise you. In Nate and the New Yorker, Mr. Klehr skillfully blends comedy, magical realism, paranormal, and romance. With emphasis on sweet romance. And the author sprinkles his great sense of humor throughout the short-story; but one of my favorites is when Nathan compares his situation to a bad romance novel. That’s no way near true about this book. It’s an enjoyable, short read. Ideal for lounging pool side or at the beach.

However, some inconsistencies prevented my total immersion in Cam and Nate’s story and that’s how I personally rate books. Five stars are reserved for those that whisk me away completely. I was sad it didn’t happen with this story and that’s why I knocked off one star.

I know some people who have successfully maintained long-distance relationships but I’m a bit skeptical about falling head-over-heels in love after one chance encounter. Mainly because I’m yet to know of a successful love-at-first-sight story in real life. Granted, romance genre is full of stories where couples fall madly in love after a brief encounter. That had nothing to do with me subtracting a star from my rating. Conversely, things like the church scene in Prague didn’t sit well with me. (avoiding spoilers here so won’t get into details). I can say without spoiling it that the exchange, in my opinion, was an inch shy of disrespectful. I’m no prude –  being an erotica writer I CANNOT afford to be one. In fact, I’ve first-hand experience with couples going at it on a public park in Milan and a hotel staircase in Rome. And nope, I wasn’t part of any of the couples just an innocent, unintentional bystander LOL But that scene was a bit off.

On the other hand, I loved the sweet paranormal (or magical realism: it depends on one’s belief) element. Again, no spoilers here. But if you check the author’s previous books, as I did before reading Nate and the New Yorker, you won’t be surprised when it pops up in the story. As a believer in that possibility, – yes I’m being vague on purpose LOL – it made total sense to me and I congratulate Mr. Klehr on his sensibility at portraying it the way he did. Hats off, sir!

Overall, I had a good time reading about Nate and Cam’s romance. I mean, the author will take literally on a journey through the planet. I LOVE traveling. He skillfully fleshed-out both main and secondary characters. Rowena was a delight, btw. I wish we had seen more of her. Plus, he packed a lot of feelings, excitement, and big ideas in a concise text. It is not easy to do that.

I recommend Nate and the New Yorker for everyone looking for a sweet, romantic story about two men struggling against physical distance, cultural differences, and social status so that they can find their way to one another.

AMAZON

GOODREADS


GIVEAWAY

FOLLOW the tour and comment for a better chance of winning the GIVEAWAY

Find the tour STOPS here.

bigstock-Man-with-tattooed-muscular-tor-53316946

ENTER HERE FOR A CHANCE TO WIN

$15 Amazon/BN GC


AUTHOR Bio

MediaKit_AuthorPhoto_NateAndTheNewYorker

Kevin lives with his long-term partner in their humble apartment (affectionately named Sabrina), in Australia’s own ‘Emerald City,’ Sydney.

He has penned two novels, Drama Queens with Love Scenes and Drama Queens and Adult Themes and the ebook novella Nate and the New Yorker.

His short story, Conversations with an Angel, is part of Jerry L. Wheeler’s Men In Love anthology released through Bold Stroke Books.

Contact details

Website

Twitter

Facebook


Hosted by

Tour Host Button 2014 beveled copy

21 thoughts on “Nate and the New Yorker Blog Tour

      1. Welcome to my blog, Kevin. Despite the huge time difference, I hope you can enjoy your stay here today. Please make yourself at home. Best of luck with the tour.
        On a personal note, I’m so glad to hear you’re writing a sequel. I’ve been missing those guys since I finished reading the book. 😉

        Like

        1. Thanks for having me. And I’m glad those characters struck a chord with you. I finished the first draft of ‘Nate’s Last Tango’ last Friday. It is in hibernation for a few months before I revisit for rewrites. K

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Great post, I loved your review! I’ve enjoyed following the tour for Nate and the New Yorker, I’m looking forward to reading it. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

