CLAIMED BOOK REVIEW

claimed

5 ***** Wicked, dark, but oh-so-good love story

You may think it’s odd for an erotica and dark romance to be called a love story but that’s exactly what Claimed is about. When I finished reading Owned I couldn’t wait to start Claimed but mid-term week in my Master’s program didn’t allow me to do it so I had a serious case of Kayne-withdrawal, let me tell you that. LOL The second book in the Decadence after Dark series is just as addictive as the first one yet you have such a better understanding of the main characters and their motivations. Interestingly enough, M. Never tells the readers at the end of the book that she wrote Owned just so she could present Kayne as we see in Claimed. However, I think she managed to insert plenty of glimpses of this Kayne in the first book as well. At least I saw him this way. I won’t say much because I don’t like spoilers but if you read the first book you’ll understand what I mean. If you haven’t, what are you waiting for? LOL

The book has tons of sexy scenes, a lot of suspense, and some serious soul-searching. It’s exactly what you expect from a dark romance and then some more. The characters are well fleshed-out, the plot is engrossing, and the pace is steady up to the middle of the book when all hell breaks loose and you feel like you’ve been thrown in the middle of a Hawaii Five-0 episode. A good one, that is. LOL Even though I knew I was going to get my HEA, there were some pretty tense moments.

In both books, the author does a great job of portraying a master/slave relationship, which differs from a D/s one in many ways. People who aren’t into the lifestyle may not know one from the other so I’m sure many readers didn’t get it. However, M. Never brilliantly shows us how Kayne and Ellie develop their relationship. Again without spoilers, I can safely say that a certain neighbor’s reaction got me laughing out loud because she represents SO MANY PEOPLE out there who does not have a clue about what happens inside a couple’s bedroom yet feels like they can pass judgement. It was brilliant. Kudos, Ms. Never!

Finally, I’ve got to say I fell in love with Kayne in the first book, deepened my feeling in this one, and can’t wait to read the last book of the trilogy. Moreover, I’ll never look at a cupcake the way I used to do before Kayne and Ellie’s story. LOL

AMAZON

AMAZON GIVEAWAY – OWNED 1st BOOK IN THE SERIES – ENTER HERE.

 

Please Leave a Reply

